it.ucsf.edu

About Using Windows on a Mac at UCSF

Background

UCSF policy requires almost all computers to be encrypted. (Details: Device Encryption.) A UCSF Information Technology team spent many months with feedback from parties across the entire University when selecting an enterprise-wide solution to protect UCSF computers with encryption. Although this solution fits UCSF’s needs very well in nearly all cases, it does not protect the Boot Camp Windows partition in a manner consistent with University policy. Consequently, Boot Camp may be used at UCSF in only two scenarios.

How to use Windows on a Mac at UCSF

You have two choices:

  1. RECOMMENDED: Remove Boot Camp, encrypt the Mac partition, and install Windows using virtualization software such as VMware Fusion, Parallels Desktop for Mac, and Oracle VM VirtualBox. With this solution, you may use either the Mac or Windows for UCSF business, research, or studies. Of these three choices—Fusion, Parallels Desktop, and VirtualBox—we recommend Fusion since UCSF students, faculty, and staff are eligible to receive a free license to VMware Fusion through our VMware Academic Program Subscription and since UCSF IT supports it. You’re welcome to use Parallels Desktop or VirtualBox, but UCSF does not provide support for those applications.
    OR:

  2. NOT RECOMMENDED BUT ACCEPTABLE: If the Windows partition will never hold legally protected data, request a device encryption waiver. If approved, install Boot Camp, then encrypt the Mac partition.

Consequences of non-compliance

If you choose to not comply with this policy:

  • Your device might be refused connection to the UCSF network when attempting to connect from an unencrypted partition.
  • You might be sent to prison or personally liable for damages if your device contains legally protected data on an unencrypted partition and then is lost or stolen.
  • If you encrypt a Boot Camp Windows partition with the encryption software UCSF provides, your computer might fail to operate properly, potentially causing you to lose data that has not been backed up.

More info