it.ucsf.edu

File Lock

Jennifer Pham's picture

With the exception of Box Notes, Box can not save simultaneous changes. When two people are editing the same file simultaneously, one version will be saved as the more recent version while the one edited by the other user will be saved as filename-(user’s email address).

In order to prevent duplicates, you will need to lock the file. This prevents all other collaborators from working on it while you work on it.

Lock


  1. Preview a file by left clicking it. Click the button above the preview window. Select Lock file.
  2. After you have selected Lock File, you can adjust how long you would like to have the file locked by selecting the time frame in the Lock duration: drop-down list. If you would like the file locked indefinitely until you decide otherwise, select the Until unlocked duration. You can also choose 5 min, 15 min, 1 hour, 2 hours, 1 day, 2 days, 1 week, 2 weeks, 1 month, or 2 months. Click Lock to save your settings.

Unlock


  1. To unlock the file, go back to the preview window and select Unlock file.

Lock with Box Sync


  1. You can also lock files via Box Sync. Go to your Box Sync folder, right click the file you would like to lock, mouse over Box Sync, and select Lock File. Locking the file this way will lock it indefinitely until you unlock it.